Math 1010: Analysis: functions of one variable

Professor Richard Kenyon
Tel. 863-6406
rkenyon -at- math dot brown dot edu
office: Kassar 305
Office hours: 12:30-1:30pm Mondays or by appointment
Grader: Chukiat Phonsom (chukiat_phonsom@brown.edu) He is available by appt. Fridays 2-3pm

Text: The Way of Analysis, by Robert Strichartz

Course outline: We'll cover Chapters 1-8, and time permitting Chapter 9.



Final May 10, 2:00-pm, BERT 130 (85 Waterman St)


Grading: there will be one midterm, one final, and weekly homework.
Your final grade will be weighted as follows: Homework 35% Midterm 25% Final 40%.
Your lowest homework grade will be dropped.


Homework 1, due in class Tuesday Jan 28:
Page 7: 2, 3
Page 13: 5

Homework 2, due in class Tuesday Feb 4:
Page 37: 3, 4, 9,
Page 49: 4, 8a
Page 54: 1, 3

Homework 3, due in class Tuesday Feb 11:
Page 84: 1, 2, 5, 7, 11, 12

Homework 4, due in class Thursday Feb 20:
Page 98: 5, 6, 10, 13
Page 106: 1, 2, 4, 6

Homework 5, due in class Tuesday Feb 25:
Page 126: 3, 5, 8, 11, 15

Homework 6, due in class Tuesday March 4:
Page 138: 3, 5, 6, 10, 12, 16

Homework 7, due in class Tuesday March 18:
Page 152: 2, 3, 5
Page 162: 2, 6, 8, 13

Homework 8, due in class Tuesday April 1:
Page 176: 3, 4, 5, 7

Homework 9, due in class Tuesday April 8:
Page 192: 1, 2, 3, 20
Page 218: 4, 8
Page 231: 3, 9

Homework 10, due in class Tuesday April 15:
Page 250: 3
Page 262: 1, 6, 7, 8, 14

Homework 11, due in class Tuesday April 22:
Page 274: 2, 5, 7, 12, 13

Homework 12, not to be turned in:
Page 294: 4,5,6,7, 10
Page 307: 5, 15
solutions here

Reading:
For Tuesday Jan 28: Chapters 1 and 2
For Tuesday Feb 4: Chapter 3
For Tuesday Feb 11: 4.1
For Tuesday Feb 18: 4.2-4.3
For Tuesday Feb 25: 5.1
For Tuesday March 18: 5.2-5.4
For Tuesday April 1: 6.1-6.2
For Tuesday April 8: 7.1-7.3
For Tuesday April 15: 7.4