MathWiSE Past Events Archive

FALL SEMESTER '12-'13

Thursday, September 20 Meet-And-Greet, with Meeting St. cookies!
We will be talking about events and activities for this semester. All students welcome!
J. Walter Wilson 303, 7-8 pm
Saturday, October 13 Girl Scouts Math Workshop
Volunteers will guide the girls through one activity, which we provide for you. It is very fun and easy, and it is a great way to give back to the community!
Barus & Holley 166, 12:30-3:30 pm
Tuesday, November 6 Preregistration Luncheon
Not sure what math or applied math classes to take this spring? Want to share your experiences with other students? Need help planning your concentration? Then join us for free Kabob and Curry and chat about math or applied math classes! Co-sponsored by MathDUG.
Kassar Davis Room, 12pm

SPRING SEMESTER '11-'12

Thursday, April 12 Girl Scouts Math Workshop
Participants will guide the Girl Scouts through a simple math related activity that we provide for you. It is really easy and fun and will not take up much of your time! This is a great opportunity to give back to the community by inspiring young girls to become interested in math!
Barus & Holley, 6-8 pm
Wednesday, April 18 Preregistration Dinner
Not sure about what math or applied math class to take? Want to share your experiences from math and science courses? Need help planning your concentration? Then join us for free Kabob & Curry and chat about math and science classes!
Kassar Davis Room, 6:30-7:30 pm

FALL SEMESTER '11-'12

Friday, September 16 I am MA/CS/AM
Interested in math, applied math, or computer science? Join MathWiSE, WiCS, and Microsoft's Intern Ambassador to Brown for lunch to meet fellow concentrators, get course advice, and find out what opportunities await these concentrations. Free Kabob and Curry!
Kassar 105, 12 pm
Saturday, October 1 Girl Scouts Math Workshop
Volunteering to guide the Girl Scouts through a math related activity (that we will have provided for you). This is a great opportunity to give back to the community by inspiring young girls to become interested in math! It's very easy and a lot of fun!
Barus & Holley, 1-4 pm
Thursday, November 3 Preregistration Luncheon
Not sure about what math, applied math, or physics classes to take? Want to share your experiences from math and physics classes? Need help planning your concentration? Then join us for free Kabob and Curry and chat about math and physics classes! Co-sponsored by Physics WiSE
Barus & Holley 723, 12 pm

SPRING SEMESTER '10-'11

Tuesday, February 15 Valentine's Tea
Interested in the female mathematics community at Brown? Join us for our first meeting of the semester! New members are welcome!
Kassar Davis Room, 12 pm
Thursday, March 3 Great Women Mathematicians
In honor of Women's History Month - Join us for lunch and hear student mini-presentations on famous female mathematicians, followed by a Q&A session about math and applied math grad school
Kassar Davis Room, 12 pm
Monday, March 14 Pi Day Celebration!
WiSE Mentor Info Session - Find out about how you can get involved with WiSE by mentoring other girls pursuing STEM fields.
Pi Day Festivities - Take a study break in honor of Pi Day! We will have pi-related contests and of course tons of FREE PIE!!
Science Center (SciLi 3rd floor)
WiSE Mentor Info Session: 7-7:45 pm
Pi Day Festivities: 7:45-9 pm.
Thursday, April 14 Preregistration Luncheon
Not sure about what math or applied math classes to take? Want to share your experiences from certain classes? Need help planning your concentration? Then join us for free Kabob and Curry and chat about math or applied math classes!
Kassar Davis Room, 12 pm

FALL SEMESTER '10-'11

Monday, September 6 Hartshorn-Hypatia Math Prizes
A non-calculus exam covering high-school level mathematics. Separate prizes for men and women; No calculus will be on the exam; no sign-up needed!
2 to 5 p.m
Kassar Auditorium, 151 Thayer St.
Wednesday, September 22 (Tentative) Amazing Race Sci Li (WiSE)
A thrilling puzzle hunt through the Sci Li stacks!
Time TBD, Sciences Library
Saturday, October 2 Girl Scouts Outreach Event Barus & Holley 141, 1-3 pm

SPRING SEMESTER '09-'10

Friday, February 19 Kabob, Curry, Summer!
Internships, REUS, and the joys/pains of application.
1:00-2:00 pm, Kassar 109
Saturday, March 13 Brown University Symposium for Undergraduates in the Mathematical Sciences (SUMS)
Math and the Environment
8:00 am-6:30 pm
Barus and Holley 166 and 168 (See SUMS schedule for details)
Wednesday, March 17 Sci-Li Challenge!
Solve puzzles, find treasure, get lucky... Sponsored by WiSE
Sciences Library: Floors B to 13..and beyond?

FALL SEMESTER '09-'10

Thursday, September 24 Kabob and Curry Luncheon
Introduction to mathWiSE: "How to write a proof" - featuring speakers from WiCS
12-1; Kassar House, rm 105
Wednesday, October 28 Pizza and Preregistration 12-1; Kassar House, rm 105
Postponed to Spring '10 Girl Scouts Math Day Barus and Holley

SPRING SEMESTER '08-'09

Tuesday, February 3 Kabob & Curry Lunch 12-1pm, 37 Manning

FALL SEMESTER '08-'09

Thursday, September 4 Activities Fair 7-10pm, OMAC
Thursday, September 18 Welcome/Planning Lunch 12-1pm, 37 Manning rm. 104
Friday, October 17 Movie Night - Proof 7-9pm, Barus & Holley 190
Tuesday, October 21 Kabob & Curry Lunch 12-1pm, 37 Manning
Wednesday, October 29 Preregistration Tea & Cookies
co-sponsored with Physics WiSE
4-5:30pm, Barus & Holley 723/724
Thursday, November 20 Summer Opportunities Lunch (K&C) 12-1pm, Davis Room (Kassar House)
Saturday, December 6 Girl Scouts Math Day TBD

SPRING SEMESTER '07-'08

Thursday, Feb. 7 Kabob & Curry Lunch
Welcome Back & Planning
12pm, 37 Manning
Thursday, Feb. 21 Kabob & Curry Lunch
Talk on graphs by Prof. Jessica Millar
12pm, 37 Manning
Saturday, Mar. 8 Symposium for Undergraduates in the Mathematical Sciences (SUMS), sponsored by Math DUG
Registration & further info HERE.
8am, MacMillan Hall
Wednesday, Mar. 11 Tea, Cookies, etc.
Talk on DNA modeling by Prof. Suzanne Sindi
3pm, 37 Manning
Thursday, Mar. 20 NSA Lecture
Talk on error correcting codes by Mike Lauzon (Ph.D. '05) of the NSA, co-sponsored by the DUG. Refreshments will be served.
4pm, Foxboro Auditorium (Kassar House)
Saturday, Apr. 5 Girl Scouts Math Day 1-3pm, Wilson Hall

FALL SEMESTER '07-'08

Friday, Sept. 7 Department Open Houses Math: 1-3pm in Kassar House (Davis Room),
Applied Math: 2-4pm in 37 Manning room 104
Thursday, Oct. 18 Welcome Lunch (K&C) 12-1pm, 37 Manning 104
Monday, Nov. 5 Preregistration Tea 3-4pm, Barus & Holley 723
Thursday, Nov. 8 Kabob & Curry Lunch 37 Manning 104, 12-1pm
Thursday, Dec. 6 Summer Options Lunch (K&C) Barus & Holley 410, 12-1pm
Monday, Dec. 10 Study Break - Ice Cream and Chocolate with Physics WiSE 37 Manning 104, 4:30pm

SPRING SEMESTER '06-'07

Sat, Feb. 10 Girl Scouts Math Day Come at 12:30pm, event is from 1-3pm, clean-up ends at 4pm, third floor of Wilson Hall, please RSVP to wise@math.brown.edu
Tues, March 20 Concentration Lunch 12-1pm in the Davis Room of Kassar House
Thurs, April 27 Final Kabob and Curry Lunch 12-1pm in the Davis Room of Kassar House
Tues, May 1 Extreme WiSE Seminar

3-5pm in the Davis Room of Kassar House

FALL SEMESTER '06-'07

Fri, Sept. 1 Math Open House 1-3pm, in Kassar House (Math Department)
Thursday, Sept. 28 Welcome Lunch with Kabob & Curry 12-1pm, in Kassar House (Math Department)
Wednesday, Nov. 1 Second Semester Registration Fair 4pm, Sarah Doyle Women's Center
Saturday, Nov. 11 Museum of Science Trip with Math DUG 10:45am - 8pm, around $35/person, e-mail Adam Merberg at Adam_Merberg@brown.edu to go
Wednesday, Dec. 6 Ice Cream Study Break

4pm Applied Math Kitchen (182 George St., enter and head to far-right corner, there will be signs)

SPRING SEMESTER '05-'06

Saturday, April 8 Career Panel
Five speakers will each speak for 10-15 min about their careers and background, then the panel will be opened up to the audience for questions.
Speakers:
  • Leslie Chang (Hartford Life International)
  • Barbara J Janson (Janson Associates)
  • Deirdre Rees
  • Leah Szlatenyi (Bentley Consulting Group)
  • Mara Yale (The MathWorks, Inc.)
Foxboro Auditorium, Kassar House, 1:30-3:30 pm

'04

Career Panel
Speakers:
  • Kelly Bowler (Hartford Investment Managment Company)
  • Katie Cornog (Avid Technologies, Inc.)
  • Melissa Durfee (Bose Corporation)
  • Jessica Libertini (Missile Defense National Team)
  • Michelle Manes (Brown University - Grad Student)
  • Patricia Pacelli (Morgan Stanley IT)
  • Ann Turley (Naval Undersea Warfare Center)